300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Vacations?

I get that being a cops demands a lot and have heard that there's not a lot of off times because of the schedules so I was wondering, how much vacation time do you get and how many vacation do you get in a year? This question is mainly being directed towards cops and detectives.

Two weeks is pretty standard for starting vacation time. It goes up incrementally from there based on the employer's policy or the union contract. I've never had a problem taking vacation when I want to. I also avoid trying to take vacation during peak activity times. As a member of the command staff I bend over backwards to make sure officers get the vacation days they ask for.

Comment

When I retired I was getting 5 weeks and 3 days a year............and I made sure I took all my vacation

As a rookie I received two weeks a year..............it bumped up at regular intervals until the end

Depending on the agency .....you might have trouble getting the exact weeks you want or the exact days you want, ,but you will get vacation time

EVEN as an administrator I didn't get Christmas week off until I had 22 yrs in due to seniority issues
      Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Like so many other questions about pay, benefits, retirement, and other issues there simply is no one answer that is applicable to all of the thousands of agencies.