300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Juggling multiple departments

First off, I want to thank everyone in this forum for answering many of the questions I’ve had to search for throughout the hiring process. This forum has been an incredible source of information. Now, on to my question(s).

I have applied with departments around my home town. My background is not squeaky clean, however I have been able to learn from the few mistakes in my past and mature from them. It is evident that two of the departments I have applied would be inclined to agree, because I have been offered a contingent job offer from dept. A and I am awaiting my oral board with dept. B. I feel a bit overwhelmed choosing between both departments, and I would appreciate any insight or opinions you may have about my situation. A little info about the departments and exactly where I am at with them.

Dept. A: Small department. Less than 8k population. Very neat and tidy community. Many flourishing locally owned businesses, relatively low crime with almost no violent crime aside from a few assaults. The department building is quite new and very modern. All of the equipment looks brand new and up to date as well. A good reflection of community support for such a small dept. They have less than 10 patrol officers and not even a handful of detectives. 12 hour shifts, 3 on 4 off, 4 on 3 off. Rotate day/nights every 6 months. Their patrol officers are younger, same as me, with “older” veteran detectives and patrol sergeants. Overall a very good looking dept. and community. My concerns are that I would have to relocate roughly 45 minutes away from where I live now, and that the action would be at most a crawl on most shifts.