Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Previous Work Experience Question

Hey guys,
    How would previous experience as a paramedic and auxiliary officer look during the selection process for departments. Next summer I'll be starting courses to become a paramedic and I hope to eventually switch to LE after I get a few years in. If all works well how would departments view this?

P.S. Also, I have no criminal convictions, no past drug/alcohol use, no etc.

Sorry to bring this up but is it just me or am I terrible at writing posts? I'm new to the whole forum thing and my posts just look a little odd...

If you want to be a cop, why not just go be a cop? If you intend to switch professions in a few years, the hiring authority at the police agency is going to wonder if that is also your plan after you've spent a few years with them. Decide what you want to do, and then take steps to be able to do it. Eyes on the Prize. Few qualifications are more persuasive than those of someone who has worked consistently and exclusively to achieve a goal.
    Tim Dees, now writing as a plain old forum member, his superpowers lost to an encounter with gold kryptonite.

Comment

Previous Work Experience

As an addenda to Tim's post let me add this. Even if you're a fully qualified EMT, etc, you're still going to have to jump through all the required hoops in the hiring process. Usually, that requires a written exam, physcological evaluation, physical exam, physical agility test, oral interview, and the ability to pass a thorough background investigation. I also agree with Tim's advice, that if you're contemplating a law enforcement career, now is the time to start.

Comment

Very interesting guys thanks! I'm just juggling around how I'm going to pay for college, get a job, etc., so I figured I'd ask guys who have gone through this for their input.

Comment