Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Lights and sirens in personal vehicles....

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lights and sirens in personal vehicles....

hello everyone. i am a volunteer firefighter. i am here asking this question to you so i may have input on this issue from law enforcement officers.

the area i am in allows volunteer firefighter to have lights in their vehicles o respond to calls. however we are not allowed to use sirens. i agree with this. i use a red/white strobe in my front window. however i fell that sirens should not be allowed. however a question was raised by some of the volunteers...

1) once we are dispatched to a call, can our personal vehicles be considered as an emergency vehicle because we are en-route to a call?
    2) if so, it was said that we should be allowed to have a siren because we are responding to a incident.

by law is this true? we are in the mississippi area by the way.

thanks for your input. stay safe

1) once we are dispatched to a call, can our personal vehicles be considered as an emergency vehicle because we are en-route to a call?
    2) if so, it was said that we should be allowed to have a siren because we are responding to a incident.

by law is this true? we are in the mississippi area by the way.
    Depends on MS law. In TN, our FF's do have sirens in their personal vehicles. Being as we keep few FF's at the station, most respond to the fire from home and get into gear on scene. If MS law states that first responders cannot have sirens, then it is true that you cannot have sirens. If it is not written in law, it depends on your department policy. It also depends if your vehicle vehicle had been registered as an emergency vehicle through the state.
    "Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called the son's of God."

Comment