300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College major for LE

Hey guys im a sophomore at Montclair State University in Jersey and I need some guidance on which direction to go in.

I have allready started taking business classes because thats what I thought I wanted a degree in but now im not so sure. Also, I heard that for LE you can have any major and it doesn't matter what subject it's in.

So, is it even worth getting a business degree if I want to pursue a career as either a NJSP or town cop?

It might be a good backup in case im not able to get a job in law enforcement, but i really dont want to climb up the corporate ladder lol

Any input will be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot.

College Major

Any degree, with the possible exception of something like "Aids Awareness" will be of considerable help to you in a LE career. Business is a good major, and I'd say, go for it. When everything is said and done, you'll still need to go through all the requisite processes for hiring. The degree will look good though, and can often result in a little more pay, than if you didn't have one.

Comment

Originally posted by PhilipCal View Post
      Any degree, with the possible exception of something like "Aids Awareness" will be of considerable help to you in a LE career. Business is a good major, and I'd say, go for it. When everything is said and done, you'll still need to go through all the requisite processes for hiring. The degree will look good though, and can often result in a little more pay, than if you didn't have one.
      Exactly correct.....a survey of HR administrators showed that having a degree is much more important than what field of study the degree is in.

I would suggest studying whatever interests you; it makes the college experience much more enjoyable, therefore making it more likely you'll finish.
      Talk sense to a fool, and he will call you foolish - Euripides

Comment