300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Applying to the department

New to the group as well as law Enforcement (not an Leo, but an applicant).. just a little back story on myself, I am a Wildland firefighter and have been doing it for 4 years. I have little to no experience as an Leo. however I have experience working alongside our forest leo’s As well as our local sheriffs, chp and some others from going on fires and incidents to different counties.. I have worked fatal/non fatal incidents, work around illegal operations such as marijuana grows, meth ops(though those may not be relevant as a firefighter in relation to law Enforcement..).i have experience working, or trying to work around irate, intoxicated, or otherwise mentally unstable individuals of the public, which is a given in my job. Not everyone like the agency and they let us know it.. there are some simularities between the two occupations though. My father was a sheriff but I got into the fire business. Although I’d always been intrigued by law Enforcement I’d never taken any steps to achieve career in the profession. I don’t have the luxury my fathers guidance on the subject which is why I find myself here. I am deeply enticed by being a part of the department, however I find myself lacking any sort of material or advice. So here are my questions:
    1: what should I expect from an oral board interview?
    2: I realize that material may differ county to county and certainly state to state, but what can I study prior to entering the program in ca?
    4: if there are any good study material such as reading comprehension or things such as grammar or punctuation etc that isn’t specific to certain areas. Possibly some Leo aptitude tests that anyone may know if I would appreciate some links
    3: If there is any advice on converting a Wildland firefighters resume into a sheriffs department resume that advice is very much welcome.