300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deciding between departments

I have two departments I am interested in working for. I have put in applications for both departments.
    Department A.) has better pay and is a better area
    Department B.) is a bad area with less pay

If I get lucky enough to get an offer of sponsorship from both departments

should I go with A.) for better pay or B.) for more and quicker experience

I

Do ride a longs and go where you fit in more with the people/culture, style of policing, community, etc. Being the police is a marathon career, not a sprint. You will get experience in time.
    Get low, get ground, get tactical! Sprawl! Sprawl! Sprawl!

Comment

Man, I was in that same boat while I have been a officer for 5 years in the military the rate of deployments were playing a toll on me. I had to pick between the NYPD,LAPD and the CMPD (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Police Department) I am from IL, I tested with all three departments and started the process with two of the departments.

First the NYPD tested with them but after making a few calls to speak to my investigator and having him always away from his desk for example you call on monday leave a message and get a call maybe a week later plus the pay there is not up to par with what the cost of living is and also what you have to pay for during training everything.

Second LAPD I started their process pay if equal to what the cost of living is but that is also a move across the US.