Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Police psych eval

Hello, all,

I had a question for experienced officers in here.

I am currently a correctional officer, been one for quite some time now. Morale and ethics in my facility and agency is at rock bottom at this point. No one seems to care about doing the right thing, and I am in general sick of the politics and everything else with this facility. Therefore, I want out.

Since being hired as an officer, I am facing the usual psycological problems that come with working in prison: depression, anxiety, and sometimes sleepless nights. I've been assaulted by an inmate once, I had bodily fluids thrown at me, and the inmate only received a slap on the wrist for that. He wasn't criminally charged for what he did to me, which makes me very angry. I was sent to the hospital for what he did to me. It's that and everything else I go through working here, why I'm having mental problems. Stemming from all this that has happened to me, I'm on anti-depresant meds and I'm seeing a counselor.

As a result of this, I would like to start applying for police departments. I basically would like to know if this will affect my ability to get through the psycological evaluation. I am not by any means "insane", I'm just a usual depressed, miserable C.O. I would say most of my colleagues are facing the same thing.

Can anyone who has been through this maybe chime in? Thank you.

Originally posted by Redsoxguy1990 View Post

Hello, all,

I had a question for experienced officers in here.

I am currently a correctional officer, been one for quite some time now. Morale and ethics in my facility and agency is at rock bottom at this point. No one seems to care about doing the right thing, and I am in general sick of the politics and everything else with this facility. Therefore, I want out.