300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Private Investigator to 1811???

I'm not sure if this is the appropriate place to ask this but I am currently a student in college about to graduate in a few months and I wanted to inquire about a future job as a criminal investigator. I am considering becoming a private investigator after I graduate in order to obtain the necessary experience to start applying for 1811 positions in about 3 years or so. It doesn't seem too often 1811 positions open up at the GS-5 level which is all I would be qualified for out of college (GS-7 is out of the question lol). I am by no means opposed to local law enforcement but investigations are my primary desire. I get that I need to start somewhere and private investigations seem to be my best bet but I could be very wrong, which is why I am here asking the professionals for advice.

I was in the hiring process for both border patrol and CBP until I realized I do not meet the eyesight requirement. My eyes are probably around 20/300, which with any of the military, inspector general, and FBI 1811s I can still qualify. I am considering Lasik but it is very expensive and not something a college student could accomplish on his own. I have also put in for various state investigative agencies in my state and the surrounding states but it would seem most want individuals with some law enforcement experience as well as the degree in spite of what their requirements entail.