300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dealing with abusive people

I'm a contractor and I'm currently dealing with a "crazy" man client. A control freak who trusts no one and flies off the handle at a moments notice. He has no idea what it takes to renovate his property, (a large old house being converted into a few separate rental units). I think he's got a short man complex too.

I've only been the target of his tirades twice, (I think I saw foam coming from his mouth). Both those times I came so close to losing it on him, but somehow, I kept my cool. Others, like the poor guys trying to install the phone and cable probably jumped off a bridge after he berated them. I've got one more week of a 10 week job to go, and if I can keep it together for the last few days, I'll get paid the final balance (he does seem to pay on time thank god).

So Question: You guys must be on the receiving end of this type of crap a lot more often than me. How do you deal with it? How do you not take it personaly? How do you keep cool?

Personally, I remember the mobster's credo..."it's nothing personal, it's just business." I remember that the loudmouths I deal with aren't directing any of their remarks toward me, per se, but toward the authority figure that I am when I enter a scene. All of the insults and even the violence directed toward me ISN'T directed toward me, it's directed toward the uniform and what it represents. I just happen to be the one wearing it.

Is that true? I dunno. But it's a good mindset and it works for me.
    "He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."
    -Friedrich Nietzsche

Comment

Originally posted by Potatohead
      Others, like the poor guys trying to install the phone and cable probably jumped off a bridge after he berated them.
      I don't think that anyone could berate me that much.