300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Medical and Health Problem

Hello, I am currently a 4th year student at a college and planning to become a police officer after graduating.

I have dislocated my shoulders while playing soccer in high school and my shoulders dislocate easily now. It dislocates so easily that I cannot even throw baseball with 100% strength.

Even if I have the shoulder problems, can I still become a police officer?

Thank you!

This may be medically disqualifying. Basically, you're asking that they accept financial responsibility for any future shoulder related injuries you may get during your career.

I would ask whatever agency you're going to apply with, directly.
    You can trust just about every officer you work with to risk their life to save yours, but don't ever leave your lunch in the breakroom refrigerator.

Comment

I suspect you are going to have problems.

This is an example of ortho standards that are common with many law enforcement agencies. http://lib.post.ca.gov/Publications/Musculo.pdf

I believe your condition is discussed in Chapter 15.

Print them out, take them to your ortho doc and ask him to read them. Then ask him to pretend he is employed by the police department to evaluate applicants and is being paid to represent the police department's interests and not yours. Finally, ask him if, according to those standards, he would approve you for hire based on what he knows of your condition. That will give you a ballpark idea as to where you stand.

Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Disqualifier aside, lets look at it from a safety standpoint: