300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Maximum age question

In the past, there have been numerous questions posted from "older" people looking to get into police work. I was an officer for awhile back in the 80s before I got into the non-sworn federal stuff I do now. I can take an early retirement in 8 more years and was thinking about getting back into some type of police work then, if I am still healthy, etc. So, any way, I started looking at depts and it seems there are quite a few that have maximum age limits. I know the fed LE is age restricted. Since age descrimination is illegal, how do police depts get away with it?
    thanks

I can't find the specific citation at the moment, but there is an exemption in the Age Discrimination Act that allows law enforcement agencies to set maximum hiring ages and to mandate retirement at age 55 or higher.

This applies to local agencies as well, provided that their state has passed enabling legislation and that legislation does not violate the state's constitution.
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Found It

Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA)
      PUBLIC SAFETY EXEMPTION

The federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) permanently exempts fire fighters, emergency medical personnel, and police officers from the federal ban on age limits and employment.

The new law authorizes state and local governments to establish mandatory
      retirement ages of at least 55, as well as maximum hiring ages. It is also retroactive to January 1, 1994, to cover municipalities whose age limits became illegal when the ADEA took affect for public safety personnel.

Application of the ADEA to Public Safety Agencies

Any state or local government may have a maximum entry age limit for public safety officers.