Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guns & ZERO experience. Need advice!!!

I'm waiting to see whether I'll be accepted into our upcoming Jan. academy. Finished all tests, everything looks good (?), BI complete and my 'life in a folder' has made its way to the final decision makers...

I have zero experience with guns, however. I've never even held one. I couldn't tell you the difference between gun A through gun Z. Ignorance doesn't begin to describe my knowledge of them and how to handle one.

I hold a BS in ADJ, and while I feel this has empowered me a little bit in regards to having no LE experience, I know it's just words/opinions/case studies/facts. Basically meaning, I can obviously learn the academics and philosophy behind anything (or so I believe I can), I know that the actual day to day and utilization of what I've learned is what will teach me the most. No question about it.

So, since I can't "practice" LE without being cop, should I do something (anything) in regards to weapons? Should I just read up as much as I can before January? Go to a range somewhere and begin practicing? I'm too embarrassed to ask my B.Investigator this (I don't know why, but I just am). Or...should I just wait for Jan to come and start at square ONE? Does the academy actually start you at square ONE, if everyone else has some knowledge/experience??? I would hate to be the one person who makes things go slower than it has to, because of this. ANY opinions/suggestions/advice is greatly appreciated!

Don't worry about it. Pay attention to what they tell you and you'll be shooting better than the guys who think they learned to shoot well from uncle Bill at the city dump. If you have poor finger stength, you can work on that before hand. Other than that, just pay attention to the instructors and dry fire a lot at home.

Comment