300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Newbie Q!!!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have almost completed my associates degree, and alot of my professors (who are also cops) are recommendding securing a position before completing my 4 year degree. They say that with the amount of troops currently deployed overseas, we are likely to see a great influx of said persons into law enforcement when they return, thus making it that much harder for us to get a position without military experience and other LE experience?

What is your take on this? I have started to watch some other forums and job listings, and quite of few of the suburban departments only require a H.S. diploma or GED. I have my diploma, and am already almost 1/2 way through college, and would definetly return to classes once I was off probation in a department.

I have started to research the requirement for the PT aspect of the job in Illinois, and have started training for them.

A couple questions: I have a screw that holds my femur into my hip that was put there when I was completing my growth as the leg was rotating. I can run without a problem, and haven't had any issues although, I am not as flexible as I should be because of this. In Illinois, part of the standards are the sit-and-reach test. If I am unable to "pass" or meet the requirement for this, am I automatically disqualified? For my age (21) I should be able to stretch 16" according to the standards. I am probably at around 10-12" prior to getting in shape and starting my workouts.

Also, do you have to meet a certain weight, or do you simply need to be able to pass the PT testing?

Thanks!