Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DQ'ed: Trying again at the same agency?

In a nutshell...

Six years ago when I was in graduate school I finally decided to pursue a lifelong dream to become a LEO. I wanted to move out west, and I applied and was hired with the Washington State Patrol. I started the academy, and being young and homesick, left about a month into the academy. BIG RED FLAG, I know, I know.

Moving back home, I applied to be a city cop about a year later. I passed the initial interview, fitness test and lie detector, no problems. I was then DQ'ed for no apparent reason, though I know that happens. It was a weird situation, as I had been called in and scheduled for the next step, and then the department abruptly DQ'ed me. No harm done, I didn't pursue an explanation and I moved on. Fast forward five years. I have reapplied with the same city agency. Now I have five years of solid work experience, have completed my masters degree, will be married soon and still have an exemplary background (no criminal record, great driving record, good credit, good references, etc.). I was told that I was able to reapply, and I'm waiting to start the second step in the process.

The detective that is in charge of my application stated that she thought she wouldn't have access to my old application records, so it was virtually a redo from the beginning. I really don't care if she has access to my old records, but without knowing what DQ'ed me the first time, I feel like I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I would love some thoughts from current LEO's, particularly folks who work with hiring. Do I really have a chance after a previous DQ, and is it possible that my file is blank from my previous application? Are there laws that require some departments to block access to applications after so many years?

Thanks for ALL you guys and gals do!!!