300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I Become A Police Officer?

I'm a sophmore college student at UNC Charlotte and over the summer I did a good bit of thinking about what I want to be. I already have a strong desire to work with video games but I just dont know sometimes. Over the summer I realised I would like to do something really important. Like I wanted to work in the government or help people somehow and so I thought Id like to be a firefighter or police officer but I dont know. Im not sure how to tell if I really want it or if Im just dreaming.

Recently Ive been watching cops a lot and a lot of what I see looks like something Id like to do. I know its not all car chases and what not tho and I think the other parts would interest me too. I remember when there was a heat wave here and the police walked around to people's houses without AC and made sure they were ok and told them they could go to the fire station if they wanted to be in the AC. That seemed really cool to me. Im good with people so id have no problem helping citizens who need it and talking to people who need talking to.

So I dont know. I think Id like to do it but choosing a career is a huge decision and im sure being a cop isnt for everyone. And I could be looking at it wrong.
    Could anyone offer any advice?
    How can I know if being a cop is right for me?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

From doing this for a while I've learned this little bit of free wisdom.

If you do not have a Strong Desire, then don't do it. You'd be wasting Taxpayer dollars for your training and equipment.... and man hours to field train you.

Every LEO I've come across that didn't have that corny reply "I've wanted to be a Policeman since I was a young kid", never stayed in more than a couple of years.

My .02
    What is it about, "Thou shalt not.....", do some people not understand?