300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Blackwater Corp???

Does anyone know anything about them or the training they offer? Are there any other companies down south that offer that sort of training? Would it be beneficial in being hired in LE work? OR is it just an overpriced shooting course??? They offer a variety of courses, and to be honest, to a 20 year old wanting to get into LE, it looks pretty cool. Just curious if any of you older swat or trt or even general officers have any advice or information on these guys. It also looks like maybe if one had the right credientials it could offer some great side work.....thanks guys

I wouldn't expect that a training certificate from Blackwater was going to cut a lot of ice with a police selection panel. The training they offer may be great (I have no personal experience with them) for someone involved in SWAT or similar work, but it's a little Walter Mitty-like for an aspiring cop. If you want to impress a selection board wiith your preparation for the job, take some CJ classes at the local community college, and be in excellent physical shape. After you have been on the job for a few years, then consider advanced training from Blackwater or one of the other many training providers.
    Tim Dees, now writing as a plain old forum member, his superpowers lost to an encounter with gold kryptonite.

Comment

From what my former partner said their training is outstanding, he did some of it when he was a range instructor, but it is expensive. That is why he did it on the city's dime. As far as beneficial for hiring, no. They might think your a lunatic if you have it.
      "I am the guy that keeps Mister Dead in his pocket." -'Mad' Max Rockatansky

"An Englewood Ranger is no stranger to Danger.." -Unk

Good Night Chesty Where Ever You Are.

A Good Friend will bail you out of jail, but a true friend will be sitting next to you in the cell saying, "That was Awesome."

Second City Cop

Comment