Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What type of prior work experince do Departments look for?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What type of prior work experince do Departments look for?

Hello, I am a college student earning a 4 year degree in criminal justice and am dead set on becoming a police offier when I graduate. I am currently working part-time at FedEx to pay my tuition.

I was wondering, what type of work experience to police departments look for during the hiring of new recruits?

Security guard? is there anything else?

For all the officers out there, what were some of your past jobs prior to becoming a police officer?

Thanks for asking this question, because it's a question I've been wondering too. I haven't gotten around to posting it though. I'm almost 19 and I just started my first year of college classes. Thus far I have worked as a cook for a cafe, a quality control person for my dad's former record company that he used to work for (Quality control is simply listening to audio CD masters and making sure there are no audible problems, if they are good, they are then sent to be copied for distribution and then sale.) The QC job paid real well, I wish I still had it, unfortunately we moved though. I got payed $25 to simply listen to a 45 min to a 75 min CD. Sometimes I had buttloads of CDs coming in too. Currently I am working for starbucks. I plan to stay with starbucks for a while, maybe through college and then possibly enter the army for a couple of years. Would that work history cut it when hoping to get on with a PD down the road?

I don't mean to hijack this thread as my own, so answer the guy above me's question first.
    Last edited by JustDontDie; 09-02-2005, 01:46 AM.

Comment

Last edited by MAD_MAX333; 12-23-2005, 05:54 AM.

Comment