300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions

Suppose if I have been a former reserve police officer, reserve SGT, Temporary part-time officer, full-time officer, and temporary Chief as well. Also have an associates degree in criminal justice, currently going for a bachelor degree in criminal justice, a former Red Cross disaster relief volunteer, have a diploma in security/police sciences, have 52 credit hours from CLEET (Oklahoma) in training, and 21 certificates from FEMA in emergency management training. All of this leads up to nothing and people snub their noses at it all, because I do not have a excellent work history. What would you all think about that? Is it stupid of me or are they stupid for not using me? I ask the question, because I am about to go through something that will let me become at least a reserve officer again and would like all of your opinions. Is this rediculous to have all of that education and training behind me? Thank you for your responses ahead of time and I have respected all of your comments on all of my posts before, so i thought it would be a good time to ask your opinions on my thoughts.

-Brad

You were everything from a Reserve to a Temporary officer and even a Chief?! What the hell kind of PD was that? I concede that I am not an expert in OK LE but that is not too impressive in that it makes little sense to me.

Again maybe FEMA training is a big deal in OK but it really does not mean much if you have a poor work history. I know plenty of "professional students" who will take each and every LE course offered, but they're still lousy cops. They just like playing cop and telling war stories but apply none of the extra training they have received out on the street.

Having some FEMA courses and an AS Degree under your belt is good but that means nothing as to the type of cop you are/will be.