300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• application

im getting ready to apply for the academy. i was just wondering what kind of things would get me rejected if i put them on the application. One thing is i have been arrested for offroading before and was charged with criminal tresspassing and damaging private property. I have since had the offenses expunged so my record is clear. Do i have to still list them? if i leave them off and they find them once they do a background check will they think i was trying to hide the offenses? im supposed to be able to not have to tell anyone about those crimes anymore bc they have been "erased" but it feels wierd not listing them where it asks for criminal record.
    Another thing is about the drug part of the application. i have done marijuana maybe 3 times in my life and its been like 2 years since then. Is it better to list it on there and if i do will they reject me, or just say i have never done drugs before, knowing i very well have tried them before.
    Thanks

I'll let some of the vets here answer the question about your prior record, but as for the pot, list it. I smoked marijuana 3 times in my life, and I listed that on my application and there was no problem. Better off being straight up front, then something coming and bitting you on the *** later.

Comment

It's easy to figure out what you should put on your application. You should list whatever you have done and answer all questions honestly. If you are worried that something you did in the past will disqualify you then ask the agency about it.

If things you chose to do in the past prevent you from getting a job in law enforcement, so be it. Move on to other fields of employment. Lying about your past to get a job is wrong and a terrible way to start off a career.
      Cogito ergo summopere periculosus.

Comment