300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RCMP Ride-Alongs

I'm interested in a career as an RCMP officer, but I would like to make sure it's the thing for me first so I'd like to go on a ride-along. Does anyone know if the RCMP still allows ride-alongs for people who aren't currently involved in the actual recruitment process? If not, does knowing someone who works at the detachment in my city increase my chances of me being able to go on one anyways? See, I'm still a university student getting a degree in Sociology and Indigenous Peoples and Justice Programs, but I'm only entering my second year and there's still time for me to change majors if law enforcement isn't for me. Not that I spend a mass amount of money on tuition and get a degree for a field that I'm going to dread for the rest of my life.

The RCMP does have ride-alongs, but force policy is that the ride-along has to be an applicant. So go to an Info session and sign up to write the test! Once you've done that contact your nearest detachment, or find somoene you know who can take you out. If you're close to Regina, go check out Depot.

The thing about about the RCMP is that it is so varied that no matter what you do, if ou don't like it you can change what your doing every few years. we do it all, from small "fly-ins", big city policing, federal sections, working embassies around the world, and UN tours, etc. What other police force in Canada offers that kind of variety!!!

Mind you F-Division (SK) hires 3-4 people per troop and the odds are 50% you'll end up in BC.

Good luck

www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Comment