300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PD starting salaries...

Hello all, I'm new and thinking that in a few months I'll be applying to become of you guys. Currently, I'm a defense contractor teaching soldiers various skills such as encryption techniques etc. I will be taking a major hit on my paycheck to be a cop but I know I'll be a lot more satisfied in life overall by serving my community.

I have a question about salary negotiations!

I'm 34, have 2 Bachelors in Political Science and English. I have experience as an Army Instructor and curious what I should ask for at 34 years old if/when the moment comes. The PD here is offering this at the website:

33k - 58k is the salary range offered. 58k is probably just for lateral and trained LEO's? Should I be looking at 45-50k with no LEO experience? I may have to think twice about anything under 45k just because I have a mortgage and a home I want to stay in. I don't want to sound selfish with salary requirements but I am curious what you guys say about how I should approach this. I just can't do go in at the min 33k because I'll just go bankrupt with current bills but I do want to serve the community! If I were 22 again and fresh out of college, I'd kill for 33k. Just that over the years... you know how it goes!

EDITED for clarity..

Well the short answer is that it really depends on the department.