300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How does the job effect you?

I have heard of police officers becoming "numb", "cold" and having some problems in a few aspects of life eg sexually, friends ect. I cant imagin going home after seeing a car accident were someone died and being happy to make love to my girlfriend.

Does anyone here feel effected my their job in any negitive ways?

Depends on the individual and how they handle it. I've been doing this for 15 years in a large city and fortunately for me, I feel I have a great family life with the benefits included.

I think with any profession, you will have your demons if you don't take care of yourself. I tend to leave my work at the "office" and not at home. But having a good wife I can communicate to, is healthy as well.

Comment

Don't take it home with you!!!

I don't take the job home with me. I don't own a scanner, I don't talk shop with buddies who are not cops, and I don't answer L.E questions off duty. Although the latter is hard because everyone is always interested what we do. And mostly I hug and kiss my wife and children each and every night and thank god we're not as screwed up as many of the people we deal with on a daily basis.

"In valor there is hope"

Comment

It does make you a bit "cold" as in desensitized.

After autopsies, we used to go to a taco place right down the street from the ME's office. Great food.

I also think the laughter and joking at a tragic scene makes for great coping. Just don't want to crack up in front of the public though.

Comment

I know its made me callous, cynical, and unfeeling.

Comment

Originally posted by midmichigancop