Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Question about Ride-Alongs and Reserve Police (Philadelphia Officers specifically)

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Ride-Alongs and Reserve Police (Philadelphia Officers specifically)

Hello all,

First off I'd like to thank you all for your service to our communities every day, I have an immense amount of respect for the sacrifices you all make and the services you provide. I'd also like to thank you in advance for taking the time out of your busy lives to answer questions from people like myself on this forum, I've read other threads in the past and learned a great deal.

Now for the good stuff...

Here's my story: I am a 23 year-old computer programmer with a bachelors degree from a 4-year college. I love what I do but for quite a while I've had the feeling I want to do something with my life that is more "important". I've been considering 3 lines of work lately, those being Law Enforcement, Intelligence (CIA, NSA), or Military (specifically the Marines).

Here's my question to you guys: Due to the fact that I already have a career, I do not feel I have the luxury of just dropping everything and becoming a cop on a whim so I am curious about any ways I could possibly get a better idea in advance if it is something I could see myself doing.

One option I figured would be to go on a ride-along with active officers and see what their day to day lives are like and the other option I researched was that some cities have a sort of "Reserve Officer" program in which people like myself can work part-time in various positions (sometimes acting as a fully-qualified officer). Do you guys have any experience with this, and would it be a good way to accomplish what I want?