Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Radar question???

Question???

It is against federal law for a commercial moter vehicle to have radar /laser detectors in any state. If the state that i'm in does not have this same law, can the state LE enforce the federal law???
    Straight Up

new office pic relocated to: http://truckingamerica.blogspot.com/

Originally posted by Straight Up
    Question???

It is against federal law for a commercial moter vehicle to have radar /laser detectors in any state. If the state that i'm in does not have this same law, can the state LE enforce the federal law???
    Can you post a link to the section? I'm far from an expert in commercial enforcement and have never run across that before.
    Cowboys in town. Trouble expected.

Comment

Originally posted by PTI
      Can you post a link to the section? I'm far from an expert in commercial enforcement and have never run across that before.

No sorry I can not. I believe it was an executive order signed in by the first Clinton administration.

I do know its to be an actual law though. Real big to-do a few years back. I will try to find more on it.
      The question come up on a drivers forum ( Dave Nemo) and I thought I would rather get a real answer here as opposed to the C B News channel

Also
      Straight Up

Comment

Ok found it.

Fmcsa.dot.gov rules and regulations title 49 392.71

Or you can pick up at any truck stop a little green book called Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.

As follows:
        392.71 radar detectors; use and/or possession.
        (a) No driver shall use a radar detector in a commercial motor vehicle, or operate a commercial motor vehicle that is equipped with or contains any radar detector.
        (b) No motor carrier shall require or permit a driver to violate paragraph (a) of this section
        Straight Up

Comment