300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• why do you guys say these things?

we listen to the scanner at work--programmed for PD/FD/EMS (i'm a nurse and we want a heads-up if something's coming in). i've noticed that the officers say "myself and 'x'," and dispatchers and LE all "...at this time."

call me a picker of nits: "when i hear 'at this time,' i think 'as opposed to--what?--six weeks ago, or a month from now...or what?" and "myself and so-and-so" is somethign i hear only from LE or read in memos from administration. it sounds kind of--i dunno--pretentious, i guess; and it is poor english. not slamming; just honestly curious.

oh--feel free to forward any nits you have handy

Call me picky but your English grammer isn't the best either.

Comment

It is just cop talk. It is a peeve of mine too. Another one I hate is "A 2002 Ford Ranger, white in color." White is a color, why say "White in color?

Comment

Originally posted by lakecityrose
        we listen to the scanner at work--programmed for PD/FD/EMS (i'm a nurse and we want a heads-up if something's coming in). i've noticed that the officers say "myself and 'x'," and dispatchers and LE all "...at this time."

call me a picker of nits: "when i hear 'at this time,' i think 'as opposed to--what?--six weeks ago, or a month from now...or what?" and "myself and so-and-so" is somethign i hear only from LE or read in memos from administration. it sounds kind of--i dunno--pretentious, i guess; and it is poor english. not slamming; just honestly curious.

oh--feel free to forward any nits you have handy

At this time - the suspect is GOA (gone on arrival) Because at that time the guy was gone. If he comes back two seconds later it's not my fault!!! Because "at that time" he was gone.

Another word used is "appears", as in the building "appears" secure. It might not actually be secure, there might be hole in the roof, but it "appeared" clear when I did a premeter check..

Comment