300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• never used/fired a gun before

I'm 20 yrs. old and will graduate college next year. I hope to get hired by a department here in Texas. The problem is though, that I'm worried that I may struggle in an academy because I have never used a gun before. Will this set me behind those that will be in the academy with me that already has LE experience, that is a hunter, or that has experience with weapons. Is there anybody here that has had this problem also. If so, how did everything turn out?

Try to look at the plus side: you won't have any bad habits to overcome and you'll be trained from a clean slate.

You may be a little behind at first, but if you train well you'll likely be ahead at the end.

Comment

Never Fire A Gun In TEXAS ????????

Let's get this straight, You are in Texas and have never fired a gun before ????? This sounds very strange.

However there are probably many larger gun stores in the Great State of Texas that have indoor ranges whwere you can take lessons and even rent a gun. We have them here in Ohio so there must be tons more in the Longhrorn State.

Here I thought its was illegal not to own a gun in your state
      Last edited by Bodie; 07-11-2004, 05:37 PM.

Comment

LOL Bodie you kill me. I was about to post words to the same effect but you beat me to it.

Too be honest, I wouldn't touch a gun until you are hired. All you'll do is learn bad habits, unless you have a good instructer. Your extra money in college can be better spent on beer and women, and let someone else pick up the bill to learn to shoot.
        I know I should feed the trolls but it is just SO hard.

Comment

Let me paint you two pictures: