300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• any USAF cops...past or present?

I enlisted in the air force and i leave june 8th. I got my security forces job and was wondering what it was like. Anybody that has any info on it would be great. Do you get to carry off base or do you have lock your weapons up everynight? How long is the typical shift? Thanks alot.

I am a Security Forces Officer and currently a shift commander and EST commander.

PM me if you wish.

Comment

Just got out of the SFs in MArch 2003..pm me too if ya want..I'll give you the enlisted point of view, which may differ considerably from an officers.
      Happy to be here proud to serve

"Well it appears this lock does not accept american express."

Never trust fire fighters to point out a suspect.

Comment

I am a SF enlisted member in the ANG. I graduated the academy in 2002. PM me with questions if you want to.

Comment

Active duty SF from 1986-1999 (with a 4-year break/mistake of leaving to go on recruiting duty), reserves from 1999-2001, called up from 2001-2003, back on reserve status now. In other words, I've done it for a while.

Standard shift for SF is 8-hours, usually a 6 on, 3 off schedule. Of course there aren't many that have worked that schedule in many, many years. Typically most units are working some variation of a 12-hour shift schedule where, on average, you work 3 on, 3 off.

Weapons are the Air Force's, you arm up prior to the start of a shift and turn it in at the end. You are on duty ONLY during your shift and are prohibited from carrying your shield in your wallet off duty.

The job has it's advantages and disadvantages. You will work hard some days and others be bored out of your skull. Outside of special ops and tactical control party personnel, you will be the only people in the Air Force trained in infantry tactics. In other words, you'll be the only ones with a clue during the Air Force version of war games!