300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tourette Syndrome

Do you guys think someone with Tourette Syndrome has a chance of becoming a LEO?

Is it under control?
    - GJD

Comment

God Dammit, what the FU*K are you thinking peice of SHI*! Couldn't resist

Comment

Not Logical Choice For Career for many reasons. Reaction if it gets out of control at wrong time in wrong situation could be deadly while on a "normal job" it wouldn't matter.
        Last edited by Bodie; 02-11-2004, 09:53 AM.

Comment

I don't think it would be a logical choice either. In my former career, I was a cook. We had a dishwasher with tourettes. Whenever we would get busy, he'd get stressed and start grunting and shaking his head. Not meaning to be humorous but the closet way to describe it is that he remended me of Curly from the Three Stooges the way that Curly used to make the sounds and slap himself. In LE that wouldn't look very good.
          In God we trust, all others are run MILES and NCIC.

Comment

Depending on how bad or how easily it surfaces would be a big factor.

On a side note I do believe the Oklahoma Highway Patrol may actually require Tourette Syndrome now.

Last edited by Navy Guy; 02-05-2004, 07:15 PM.
            I know I should feed the trolls but it is just SO hard.

Comment

I don't know much about it, but IIRC it can be triggered by stress. Could you handle a very streesful cross-examination in court? Could you function 100% in the street in high stress situations? No need to answer here, just ask yourself "Could I trust my life to a partner with the same problem?"
              "A man who has nothing which he cares about more than he does about his personal safety is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the existing of better men than himself."
              John Stuart Mill

Comment