300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My ~10 year plan

Looking for some guidance, I'm a 6 year military veteran who is in the process of becoming a PA state trooper. If all goes well I'm hoping to do 4-6 years and then test/transition to criminal investigator. In the long run however (say 10 or so years down the road) I'd like to see myself working at a GS level position in federal defense or some sort of anti terrorism type position, I was wondering if anyone can shed some light for me. Is there any typical transition path open to state level law enforcement employees that want to go federal? Thank you.

First of all, thank you for serving this great nation. It's good to see that you have a game-plan, time-line and specific goals.

“Truth is not what you want it to be; it is what it is, and you must bend to its power or live a lie.”

Miyamoto Musashi

“Life Is Hard, But It's Harder When You're Stupid”

George V. Higgins (from The Friends of Eddie Coyle)

Comment

Be mindful that your goals may change. You may wind up retiring as a Trooper, as you may not get into a Fed career. Who knows? I didn't plan on being at my agency as long as I have, but we'll see!
      The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. He has fangs and the capacity for violence. The difference, though, is that the sheepdog must not, cannot and will not ever harm the sheep. Any sheepdog who intentionally harms the lowliest little lamb will be punished and removed.

I Am the Sheepdog.

"And maybe just remind the few, if ill of us they speak,
      that we are all that stands between
      the monsters and the weak." - Michael Marks

sigpic

Comment

What AT position are you talking about? Which Fed agency?

Comment

Do you have a four year degree?

Comment

Originally posted by CCCSD View Post
            What AT position are you talking about? Which Fed agency?