300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I become a cop

Ok here's my situation for as long as I can remember I have wanted to serve my community, to help make it a better place, and to help prevent some of the wrongs going on out there. In high school alone I had over 300 hrs of community service. I've always thought of becoming a police officer knowing full well some of the horrors they may endure while performing their duty. Now with that said I've also have had always a strong mathematical and science side leading me to want to eventually obtain a mechanical engineering degree.

Now my question here is should I become a police officer while knowing full well that im not going to progress further into the field of criminal justice. The way I have it figured out right now is that I would be a full time officer for about 4 years while taking a class or two every semester to further my mechanical engineering degree. Now once I have my degree I do still plan on staying on as a part time/reserve officer if that is possible.

If you have to ask on an internet forum what we think you should do with your life, then the answer is probably no.

Comment

Originally posted by xdjoker View Post
      Now my question here is should I become a police officer while knowing full well that im not going to progress further into the field of criminal justice.
      Probably not; here's a twist for you. I earned my degree in Mechanical Engineering, knowing that I didn't want to work in that field. I won a scholarship and it only paid for engineering and mining technology programs. I always wanted work as a police officer; that was my ultimate goal.

It is a great thing to give back to your community, but this is a profession where you have to be all-in. Taking a class or two every year seems more like a hobby than a goal.

“Truth is not what you want it to be; it is what it is, and you must bend to its power or live a lie.”

Miyamoto Musashi