Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this a concern to me?

Hello everyone,

I have a few concerns whether my following questions will be a concern of mine during the background investigation phase with a Police Department.
    I'm 19 years old and I'm a full time college student. Lately, my father brought up this subject about opening a business in my name, presumably a rental car business or something. He said I do not need to work there or anything, it's just he'll open the business in my name and he'll deal with the customers and all that. Now my question is, will this be a concern to me during the BI phase? I will surely disclose everything, but how do I disclose information about the business if I have never worked there before or interacted with any customers? Maybe I'm stressing myself out here, it's just I thought it would be a good idea to ask this question before opening the business so I could know what to do or document so I could provide the necessary information to my BI when I apply for the PD in the next 5 years or so.

Thank you very much for your time reading through my message, and I wish you all a merry Christmas. Stay safe everyone.

If I were doing the BI, I would wonder why you would be the in name only, owner of a business. While there may be a couple of legitimate reasons to go this route, I cannot think of any

“Truth is not what you want it to be; it is what it is, and you must bend to its power or live a lie.”

Miyamoto Musashi

“Life Is Hard, But It's Harder When You're Stupid”

George V. Higgins (from The Friends of Eddie Coyle)

Comment

Why would your father do that?

Why would he not use his own name?

Bankruptcy? Fraud? Money laundering?

If he filed bankruptcy or has creditors and is trying to avoid then or get loans for the new business by pretending to be you that's potentially several types of felony fraud. Possibly even federal felonies.

If you know why and consent potentially you could be an accessory.