Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

NYC Corporate Accounting Job to Law Enforcement?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NYC Corporate Accounting Job to Law Enforcement?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on this site (and a LE forum in general). I just wanted to get some feedback on a thought I've been having and I haven't been able to shake it. I'm a CPA...turning 26 in one month. I'm from LI and do the drone commute everyday into NYC and work 80 hours a week. I feel very accomplished being so young and having a great job and being a CPA, but I only feel accomplished from what I have achieved (if that makes sense). My job itself is not fulfilling and is pretty dry and dull and I often daydream of being in LE. I feel like I make zero difference in society. My best friend is NYPD and loves it, my GF's dad is MTAPD 30+ years and she comes from a family of police officers. I feel like it's a great job that can make me feel like I've accomplished something at the end of the day. I know there are holidays and weekends (and the danger), but it's something I really can't stop thinking of. I took the NYPD exam and got a 98...not sure if that score matters or not (I've heard nypd doesn't care about scores, just passing). I always keep my nose clean...clean record, no dwi etc. What do you guys think? Should I go for it? Do you think I'd regret switching careers and taking the pay cut? I also want to be able to provide for my family (not sure how top pay is w/OT)...my friend is in midtown south and said with top pay and OT he'd be at 120k.