Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career and Family Decision.....

Long story short....

I was a city cop for a little over a year, and before that I was a reserve while in the military. I have since relocated back to my hometown and took a job at a federal prison.

Federal Prison pay: base is about $50,000
    Local police county/city: $32,000

My passion is law enforcement, but at what point is to low of pay to take? At the prison the pay and benefits are excellent. I like working their but I don't love it. I love being a cop and a correctional officer and a cop are two totally different careers.

If I was single it would be an easy choice but I have a wife and three girls!!!

Has anyone else been in this position?

Sounds like you already made your decision, you need to do what is best for you AND your family!

Best of luck!
    The sheep generally do not like the sheepdog. He looks a lot like the wolf. He has fangs and the capacity for violence. The difference, though, is that the sheepdog must not, cannot and will not ever harm the sheep. Any sheepdog who intentionally harms the lowliest little lamb will be punished and removed.

I Am the Sheepdog.

"And maybe just remind the few, if ill of us they speak,
    that we are all that stands between
    the monsters and the weak." - Michael Marks

sigpic

Comment

First of all thank you for your service to our country. As far your situation goes, only you and your wife know what kind of salary you need to keep your family well cared for. That being said, if money isn't a major issue, I'm under the impression that if your're happy with your job, then it will carry on to the home.

Good luck in your endeavors.

Comment

I left street law enforcement in 1983 and went back to the prison system. Within a year my salary was too much to go back without a huge pay cut.