300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can Anyone Help

Hello, my name is Chris and I live in Bonham Texas. My dream is to become a peace officer. I am 19 now but 20 in Jan. I graduated and have my Diploma from High School. My Question to you is how do i go about to become a peace officer. I've called around and asked but got no where. So if anyone can help to give me good advice I would appreciate it alot. Thanks
    Chris

Go to college. Some old officers never went to college. They could just go through the academy and hit the streets. I'm not sure how everything works in TX, but in MI MCOLES is actually requiring a minimum of an associates degree before you can take their academy.
    Law abiding citizens sleep peacefully in their beds solely because dedicated men and women stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

Comment

I'd say about 90% of Illinois departments require at leist 60 credit hours and the ones who don't require it will probably take the people with college than people without it anyway. One of the reasons I'm going to college.

Plus, why not go to college? It can only help no matter what career you choose. Although college is not easy, I can say it's MUCH more fun than High School. Just stay away from all the crap that goes on (the drug scene, etc.) and you'll have a blast. Trust me, you don't want to miss out on college. I'm right smack in the middle of the best 4 years of my life right now. Plus when I get out I'll be making more money! It's a win, win situation.

I understand where your coming from though. I hate knowing that I still have to wait 2 more years before I can get a job with a department. I want to be on the streets NOW! Anyway, just remember whats best for you in the long run. Maybe after taking a few law enforcement classes you'll decide you want to do something else. Who knows? So, what i've said in about 3 paragraphs can be summed up to once sentance:

Go to college.

Good luck,

Mike

Comment