Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LAPD. Is this the right career for me?

Hello. I have been thinking about getting into law enforcement for about a year now (I need a career change.) I am 25 years old and a very petit female. I am 5'1 and 105lbs. I would love to apply to the Lapd Academy! I have an AA Degree in Music. I am pretty tough, in great shape and am not afraid to be a cop (hoping to become a detective or work with k9s. I can handle pretty tough situations. But with my height, would I be criticized constantly for being 5'1? Would I be able to even handle the Academy? I have been doing research for quite a while now and it gets more interesting for me. I would like to speak to any females or any officers in my position personally. I don't have any friends or family that are in LE. I have so many questions!
    Also, what is the difference between training to be a peace officer vs the actual police academy?
    Thanks all!

It's all about you passing. Size doesn't matter.
    Peace Office is the same as Police Office.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

OK, it's been awhile since I've been there, but try www.policebackground.net. This is a privately owned website which deals with mainly LAPD applicants and those seeking information concerning the LAPD hiring process. You'll find some very friendly helpful people on this site, and they should be able to answer many of your questions.

Additionally, I would not limit myself to LAPD, but look into other agencies in the Los Angeles area. Best of luck to you.

Comment

Thanks! I will look in to it.
        I see LAPD because it pays to train. I wouldn't want to pay and go to a college to train (I have loans from my previous degree! and dont have an income.)
        Are there any other Academies like LA? ...around or near?

Comment

Originally posted by Tolentino View Post
          Thanks! I will look in to it.