300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PT Question

I am scheduled to take the PT in a little over two months. I am running the 1.5 with no time to spare. In fact, I may be a little short of the time. I'm training daily. Here is my question. Do I have enough time to shave off 2 minutes from my run time? I have read numerous threads concerning fitness. Any additional info. would be much appreciated.

Yes you do. Interval training will have you shave 1 minute off in about 2-3 weeks if done right. 2 months? not a problem if you keep pushing yourself.

Comment

Originally posted by Shush View Post
      Yes you do. Interval training will have you shave 1 minute off in about 2-3 weeks if done right. 2 months? not a problem if you keep pushing yourself.
      Thank you for the encouragement. Forgive my ignorance, but will you explain what interval training is? I am fairly new to the running terminology.

Comment

Assuming you are like most people dropping ten-twenty pounds would also help tremendously. I hardly did any running but improved my run time quite a bit by dropping some extra weight.

Comment

I just noticed you are from AL. I grew up not far from Athens.

Here is what you do. Go out on the road, and sprint as hard and fast as you can from 1 power pole to the next. Then, lightly jog to the next. Then - Sprint to the next. Lightly jog to the next. Do this until you puke. Then turn around and go back. (wind sprints)

Do this every other day. On Saturday, take a nice leisurely run. Don't get overly ambitious and run on rest days. You need a day between for your muscles to figure out what the crap you just did to them.