Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Having a college diploma when apply seems useless

Greetings everyone,

I am a college graduate with a degree in criminal justice, and is currently enrolled in a paralegal program. I have a clean background, no criminal record, bilingual, proactive in my wellness, have done volunteer works, have 6 plus years of customer service, done ride alongs, but yet can't seem to land a job as a law enforcement officer yet. I recently didn't pass my oral board because I was nervous as hell when I had it. I was really prepared but don't know why I didn't pass it. I felt like I was really anxious on getting hired and just psyched myself out. I also applied to two entry level positions but they said I didn't meet their qualifications....what? I just feel like agencies preferred people who have more life experiences, especially military people.
    So for all current law enforcement officers, is it worth trying to enhance my education at this point?

Forgot to mention that I scored a 50.2 on my written exam portion, and a 540 on my fitness exam

Comment

The profession is extremely comptetitive right now

Bottom line is in order to get hired you have to EXCELL at every part of the process from testing to interviewing.

Reading your short post, I dont' see any reason why NOT to hire you, However I can see a few reason why you aren't getting hired

It appears you are overly nervous during the process-----------------that would come off as a MINUS or a RED FLAG

It also could mean that the people interviewing you don't see you as confident enough to make it in the profession.......................

Try Toastmaster International http://www.toastmasters.org/

and get some experience speaking and confidence in oral exchanges
      Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important