300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Military vs. Bachelor's Degree

Hello, I am stuck between going active duty in the Navy or furthering my education to earn a Bachelor's degree.

Now, is it true if I were to go active duty that the Navy would pay for my education?

I am here for some feedback that may or may not persuade me to go one way or another.

Thank you!

You need to talk to a recruiter for the specifics of the GIBill.

Generally they pay for tuition, books and a stipend.

There's no reason you can't pursue a degree and perform military service. Your service will give you credits toward your degree, and there are often opportunities to take classes aboard ship.

If you apply yourself you can be half or three quarters toward a four year degree, and have your AA, after a four year enlistment.

Don't forget that most police academies will give you college credit as well.
    Last edited by tanksoldier; 05-06-2014, 11:08 AM.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Comment

Go in the military. A bachelor's degree is not going to be a requirement at any police agency I know of and a military background will help you get hired. Plus, you can use the GI bill to get a free education. I got my bachelor's and am almost done with my master's and it has been paid for entirely with the GI bill.

If you go to college first you will have to pay for that all yourself to get a degree that doesn't matter much. Plus, new hires with a military background will get more respect than ones with a college degree.

Comment

Get Both! It will make you much more marketable and open more doors.