Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does being a "Police Records Clerk" aid in landing LEO job?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does being a "Police Records Clerk" aid in landing LEO job?

Hi everyone,

I've recently been offered a "Police Records Clerk" position and would like your opinion on whether is it worth pursing, keeping in mind my ultimate goal is to become a police officer. What I am looking to know is how much, if any, would this increase my chances of being hired as a LEO down the road?

In order to take this job, I would have to commute an extra 1hr-2hr per day and take a pay cut in the range of $5,000-$10,000/year. I currently work as a technical author writing owners manuals for Ford, I really like my employer and it's close to home which is great, I can even work from home and my hours are flexible. Not a job anyone would just leave but my heart is in law enforcement.

For what it's worth, I am 24 years old and pursing my LEO degree in the meanwhile. Just got picked up by a local Reserve unit as well, and am currently attending Reserve Police Academy.

Thank you for your feedback!

Originally posted by danielw View Post
    Hi everyone,

I've recently been offered a "Police Records Clerk" position and would like your opinion on whether is it worth pursing, keeping in mind my ultimate goal is to become a police officer. What I am looking to know is how much, if any, would this increase my chances of being hired as a LEO down the road?

In order to take this job, I would have to commute an extra 1hr-2hr per day and take a pay cut in the range of $5,000-$10,000/year. I currently work as a technical author writing owners manuals for Ford, I really like my employer and it's close to home which is great, I can even work from home and my hours are flexible. Not a job anyone would just leave but my heart is in law enforcement.