300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Medical dq?

I had a recent check up to get qualified to take physical education class in college I am a very active person I run cycle lift weights ect this is my life. I find out I have a condition called "Athlete's heart" my heart is a little larger because of all the activity I do I was cleared by own doctor after doing a sonogram ekg and stress test. Basically he told me that this is common among st people like myself and that I'm ok to participate would this medically DQ me?

Thanks

From the limited research I did (read a wikipedia article ) about Athetele's heart I don't see any reason why it would disqualify you. However I am not a doctor, nor am I involved in any agencies hiring. Just stay in good physical shape and maybe see a doctor again before you begin the hiring process. Good luck.

Comment

I'm not medically qualified to answer your question. Basically. two entities set medical standards for employment as Police Officers. They are a given state's Police Officer's Standards and Training (POST) or similar entitled agency. These entities will usually set the MINIMUM standards at which an applicant can be hired.

The individual agency to which an applicant applies may set medical standards which are higher than those minimums mandated by the state. However, they cannot waive or establish standards which are lower than the minimum.

Some agencies in some states may shy away from an applicant with heart related problems. This has to do with medical retirement/disability issues which can leave an agency financially liable for medical conditions related to heart issues. We have a California colleague who is especially adept at explaining these issues, and hopefully, he'll add some thoughts.