300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Want to know about being cop....

Hi, I'm a budding writer and I'd like to know some basics about being cop and what's his/er life is like just so I can make a police character. Even if the cop character is just a footnote, at least I want to learn about what cops are like. I want to eschew those Hollywood cliches of "supercops" and bring a bit more detailed, if not authentic, take on the police force.

Can you help?

A good start would be to see if your local PD has a ride-along program and get some first hand experience.
    There's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore like an idiot.

Steven Wright

Comment

The ride-a-longs are excellent. Check to see if your local agency has a citizen police academy. These are excellent means of getting some feeling for the job. Who knows, you may actually become an advocate for police officers!
      "A pint of sweat will save a gallon of blood." Lt. Gen. George S. Patton

Comment

I forgot to tell you, I live in Malaysia. How does a police force differs from every country to country?

Comment

Policing in each country is different, just like the life of a big city (USA) cop is completely different from a Rural Sheriff's Officer. I had lived in cities all my life, now I have retired to a small town. Here, the paper prints the police logs for the local communities. There are burglaries, vandalism, stolen cars, drunk drivers, but few armed robberies and murders. But officers respond to livestock (alive and dead) in the road, lost hikers, keys locked in the car, etc. And all this gets printed in the paper!