300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice

I am a full time student and athlete so I do not have much spare time. However, I want to become a cop when I get out of school. I am 21 and have one year left. Does anyone have any suggestions to get me started in the right direction? I need a place to begin. Thanks

Well, I think you'd do well to start learning something of what you'd want in an agency. There are an awful lot of variables, and the resonses you get from working cops reflect all the variety of personalities among people.

Good small local agencies can offer a chance to do a lot of things you might not get to do for years in a large agency. For instance, in our agency, with a sgt. and two line officers on patrol at a time to cover a county, you deal with everything, and you do your own misdemeanor investigations. Only felonies are referred to detectives. And, of course, you know everyone well.

To get to top money, you'll be looking at a large agency with salaries for command folks reflecting the complexities of management in a big outfit. On the other hand, if you like a small town atmosphere and a short drive to work and maybe a car to yourself and the privilege of taking it home, that's mainly a smaller agency thing. It will likely be a trade-off against pay. But know that there are a LOT of folks working for less money to be where they enjoy being.

If you like to be settled in one place, note that federal agencies and many state police agencies will have you moving regularly to advance. For example, a trooper may have to move to advance to sgt, because the policy is that you won't be made a supervisor of the troopers you've been working with.

You can also look into differences in states. Some have lateral transfer laws that may mandate that, if you move to another department, you can't be reduced more than one rank. There are some obvious trade-offs there, too.