No announcement yet.

Newbie question on joining the ranks

300x250 Mobile

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie question on joining the ranks

So I'm in a position where I'd like to change careers (I'm a writer), so I investigated getting a degree in criminal justice and becoming a detective. However, I am unsure of what a detective entails - in my mind, it's a cop of sorts who gathers information on a case. I could be wrong about this, which is why I'm posting here.

The problem I'm encountering is that I'm 41. I'm a rather young 41 in fine shape, but it seems that I've seen cut-offs for policemen at 37. But I'm not as interested in wearing a blue suit and badge as much as being a detective, so I guess my question is whether they're the same thing? Because I may be SOL due to my age, and I was never in the armed forces so I don't have that going for me either.

Any advice would be appreciated because I would hate to pursue a criminal justice degree all for naught. And, FWIW, I'd consider forensic psychology if it's a great Plan B.....thanks!

Your age is irrelevant, your idea of what police do and how to become a detective are the problem.
    Certified troll.

Okay, so please school me as perhaps brevity was not my friend in my OP.

In the end, I do have a sense of justice and order, which is what has led me to investigate this path. The NYC police force and the FBI have the 37 y-o cut-off but that may not be true for all areas of law enforcement.

You'll have to a street cop before being a detective. Your only chance of being a "detective" without being is street cop is the federal criminal investigator series (1811), however, those have the 37 years old cut-off.
        (='.'=) This is Ninja Bunny.
        Copy and paste Bunny into your
        signature to help him gain world domination

So then there is hope despite my age? That it may just depend on the jurisdiction?