300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jurisdiction

I am a Federal Police Officer for the Department of Veterans Affairs, our property has concurrent jurisdiction with local authorities. I can only act in law enforcement capacity while on VA owned property. I work in a very dangerous city in Michigan and we have to go off property often to gas-up and what not. I often see city squad cars driving down the main road in front of my medical center. I can recall one night an officer conducted a traffic stop right across the street and it was a car full of hood-rats giving him lip service. I was just thinking of how if that officer needed assistance what would I do. I know what I would do however I would probably be looking for work soon after. Does anyone in the civilian law enforcement community have a problem with this double standard. That some how I can be expected to act as a law enforcement officer on Federal property but if an officer is getting his *** handed to him I would be violating policy by assisting therefore running the risk of getting fired. We are covered under HR218 however we cannot identify ourselves as LEO's unless asked by a LEO. I remember what an instructor told me at the academy do what you think your career can afford. Refering to that officer across the street getting a beat down or worse. I can only imagine what people would think of you if you did not act. So what would you do?
    "Protecting those who served"

I would find somewhere else to work...quickly
    The posts on this forum by this poster are of his personal opinion, and his personal opinion alone

"Politicians are like diapers. They need to be changed often and for the same reason"

"We fight not for glory; nor for wealth; nor honor, but only and alone we fight for freedom, which no good man surrenders but with his life"

Comment

764.15d Federal law enforcement officer; powers.

Sec. 15d.