300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional Courtesy

I'm an aspiring police officer, and I was questioned from friends if I were to pull over another police officer during a normal traffic stop for a speeding violation, if I would let him/her go. I told them I would. They didn't agree with me and mentioned that police officers are not above the law.

I agree that police officers are not above the law, but I also agree that there should be some type of professional courtesy. I searched around the internet, and those who weren't LEO's pretty much bashed police officers for treating each other as if they are above everybody else. They also didn't agree that officers speed without lights and sirens. I actually got a bit upset reading all of it.

I would like to hear from LEO's what their perspective is on this and how many would let other police officers go during a traffic stop.

My reasoning for letting another officer go is because the job is relentlessly stressful, throughout my ride-alongs that I've had I have noticed that police officers tend to have a mighty heavy foot so I can see this happening off-duty as well, and something minor as speeding I see as a good courtesy to each other. Am I wrong in thinking this?

Thanks
    bag.0032

I'm really glad that someone finally started a post about professional courtesy. If there is one thing this forum has been missing besides a thread about "how many arrests can I have and still get hired" it's a thread about PC.

Comment

I don't think this subject has been discussed here yet, I'm so glad you brought it up... Now what was I saying.
      Ignore List : Bearcat357, Blackavar

Comment

I'm actually surprised it hasn't been brought up before. I figured this has been a topic mentioned several times before. Glad it's a good one haha.

Comment

The search function is your friend..............it's been discussed several times.

Actually more than twenty............here is one: