Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting Sworn-In to a Police Department (What Occurs)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting Sworn-In to a Police Department (What Occurs)

What exactly happens when you get Sworn-In as a Police Officer? Do you get your badge right then an there? I am getting sworn-in later in this month. I am new to Law Enforcement, so I don't know exactly what happens.

Thanks

I put my hand up, repeated a few lines from a sheet of paper, and got a handshake from the chief. I think there is a more official looking one coming up at a town hall meeting when I graduate from the academy.

I also developed x-ray vision.

Comment

Six of us assembled in the Sheriff's office (the head honcho's actual office, not just HQ in general), he told us that the one thing that will guarantee he'd terminate any of us would be to lie about anything. Then his secretary read us the oath, we said "I do" and that was it. The sheriff went back to his paperwork and one of the new hires who'd worked several years as a CO for us extended his hand. The sheriff looked up for a second, then stood up and shook our hands without saying a word, then sat back down to his paperwork.
      Government is not the solution to our problem; government is the problem. - Ronald Reagan

I don't think It'll happen in the US because we don't trust our government. We are a country of skeptics, raised by skeptics, founded by skeptics. - Amaroq

Comment

You stand there with you right arm raised and you repeat after the person swearing you in what ever he/she says. After that, you shake hands with friends, family, other officers in attendance, etc. Then you sign something but sometimes you sign something first. But in all of that hoopla, you look down on that bright and shiny new badge and grab it firmly due to the wild ride you will have as a LEO.

Comment