300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Record Expungement and LE job

5 years ago i was arrested and charged with possession of fire works on educational property in North Carolina, which is a felony. I was handcuffed and fingered printed, but i was given community service and a fine, and upon completion of those the charge would be dropped. I did what i was supposed to and they were dropped, and of course on my record it shows that I was arrested for a felony still. I just recently got my record expunged. I have my degree in criminal justice, i haven't gotten so much as a speeding ticket since then. My whole life i have wanted to do nothing but be a police officer. My question/concern is do i need disclose that information on my application or can i answer no to the question have i been convicted or charged. And if yes i do, could it cause problems even though it was expunged? Please any one with any knowledge on this let me know. Thank you

Originally posted by thinblueline23 View Post
    My question/concern is do i need disclose that information on my application or can i answer no to the question have i been convicted or charged. And if yes i do, could it cause problems even though it was expunged? Please any one with any knowledge on this let me know. Thank you
    You were arrested and charged with a felony. Fact of life. It doesn't matter if the charges were later expunged---------YOU WERE ARRESTED AND CHARGED with a FELONY.....................Actually you were CONVICTED of a felony.

And if yes i do, could it cause problems even though it was expunged? Please any one with any knowledge on this let me know. Thank you
    Yes there will be consequences for your previous actions. It doesn't matter that the conviction was "expunged" You were ARRESTED, CHARGED, & CONVICTED of a felony.

For the most part you will not be eligible for hire as a police officer anywhere in the United States.