Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ethics & Laws

Hello everyone!

I am seriously thinking about pursuing a career in law enforcement. However, I have a question for all you current police officers.

Are there any laws you feel are wrong? If so, how do you feel about enforcing these laws? If not, if there were laws you thought were wrong, how would you deal with it?

I was just wondering how some of you feel about possibly enforcing something you believe is wrong/unconstitional/etc upon someone else.

Thank you for your time in both answering my question and protecting me from all the crazy people!

-Jason

Not a cop yet, but I have plenty of experience to answer this.

Seatbelt and helmet laws. BS. I might use them as PC to stop a vehicle, but I would not write a ticket for them.

As for criminal laws, I like most of them. But in a few cases a person may have violated the letter of the law and not really deserve to go to jail. That's the beautiful thing about discretion. With a few exceptions, cops aren't required to take action every time a law is broken.

Mike

Comment

Seatbelts and helmets helped prevent me from having to remove T/A victims from a car or the street, while they lay there in two or more chunks.

Some laws make sense, after a time and a few bad accidents.

But overall, although an officer does not not give up personal opinions, still the laws must be applied in a even-handed fashion.

Jim Burnes

Comment

Unless those victims had gotten a seatbelt or helmet ticket a few minutes before the accident, the laws didn't prevent anything. Laws or no laws, people make their own decisions.

From the tone of your post, it's not even the life-saving aspect that you like about the law, just the fact that your accidents were easier to investigate than if they had been fatal. Laws are supposed to protect people and society from others. Laws are not supposed to protect people from themselves, or cops from having extra paperwork.