Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Justice Studies Major, Psych Minor worthless?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Justice Studies Major, Psych Minor worthless?

I know this question was asked and discussed to a certain degree but I didn't quite find the answers as they might apply to me.
    Like the other poster, my major is Justice Studies with an emphasis on Criminal Justice in LE, and a minor in psychology. I am planning on eventually completing a Ph.D in Forensic Psychology but I'm a junior in college so its a while away. All the responses I saw from officers said that its essentially a worthless degree, in that it doesn't pop out any more than anything else on an application, and that another focus is preferred. That said, my university's Social Science department is somewhat limited, and while I have a ton of interests, a Pre Med degree in Biochemistry isnt really what I had in mind. I know that languages are an important skill set and can get you far. I speak French, some spanish, planning on taking another course, Latin (not helpful in the 21st century I know), and am currently in Russian I and picking it up rather well, languages come fairly easy to me. I'm also planning on taking Korean or Mandarin Chinese. Like the other poster, I may choose to go into a federal agency later and am trying to give myself the best chance.
    I really don't have many appropriate academic interests that would be applicable in Law Enforcement. A B.S. in Anthropology probably would not be necessary in the job and my feeling is that if I'm going to shell out 100 grand for an education it should be in something that I'm interested in and will suit my career choice.

I suppose my question is simply, is there anything wrong with my current field of study? What more can I do to improve it without adding years to my degree?
    Thanks all.